Skip to content

AIDS Walk

August 2, 2010

For the first time, I participated in an AIDS Walk. Honestly, it was a bit surreal. I thought I’d feel very nervous and uncomfortable, but it quite the opposite. I felt at ease. I felt accepted. For the first time since my diagnosis, I did not feel shame or embarrassment. Hundreds of strangers showed up to support a cause that is now very near and dear to my heart. It was great to see other people who were openly disclosing their status. I saw gay couples and straight couples, young people and old people. But the common factor was support. Support for research, funding and education. Support for friends, family and even complete strangers. It was quite simply….beautiful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

